My Favorite Plugins

WordPressPluginsI had a problems choosing just a few plugins for the “WordPressKC Organizers Share their Favorite WordPress Plugins” Meetup event.

So here is my complete list…

“Multisite Specific Plugins”

Simple Historyhttps://wordpress.org/plugins/simple-history/

View changes made by users within WordPress. See who created a page, uploaded an attachment or approved an comment, and more.

(Very good to see which course members are login into the site.)

 

User Managementhttps://wordpress.org/plugins/user-switching

Instant switching between user accounts in WordPress.

 

ThreeWP Broadcasthttps://wordpress.org/plugins/threewp-broadcast

Network Content Syndication Made Easy! Automatically share content by multiposting between multisite blogs.

 

Network Plugin Auditorhttps://wordpress.org/plugins/network-plugin-auditor/

Adds columns to your Network Admin on the Sites, Themes and Plugins pages to show which of your sites have each plugin and theme activated. Now you can easily determine which plugins and themes are used on your network sites and which can be safely removed.
Multisite Plugins Add Newhttps://wordpress.org/plugins/multi-site-plugins-add-new/

Adds an “Add New” sub menu item to the Plugins menu of all sites inside of a network for network admins.

 

Also…

 

“Plugins to help make dealing with content in the backend easier:”

 

Enable Media Replacehttps://wordpress.org/plugins/enable-media-replace/

Enable replacing media files by uploading a new file in the “Edit Media” section of the WordPress Media Library.

(A must have so that I don’t have to keep deleting and re-uploading media revisions to keep the same URL path.)

 

Duplicate Posthttps://wordpress.org/plugins/duplicate-post/

Clone posts and pages.

 

Simple Page Orderinghttps://wordpress.org/plugins/simple-page-ordering

Order your pages and hierarchical post types using drag and drop on the built in page list. For further instructions, open the “Help” tab on the Pages screen.

(I like to keep my pages in the order that I have them in the menu. I also separate out front end pages from hidden backend pages. )

 

Admin Post Navigationhttps://wordpress.org/plugins/admin-post-navigation/

Adds links to navigate to the next and previous posts when editing a post in the WordPress admin.

 

Admin Columnshttps://wordpress.org/plugins/codepress-admin-columns/

Customize columns on the administration screens for post (types), pages, media, comments, links and users with an easy to use drag-and-drop interface.

 

Plugins Last Updated Columnhttps://wordpress.org/plugins/plugins-last-updated-column/

This plugin adds a ‘Last Updated’ column to the admin plugins page.


Redirection
https://wordpress.org/plugins/redirection/

Redirection is a WordPress plugin to manage 301 redirections and keep track of 404 errors without requiring knowledge of Apache .htaccess files.

(I use this as a branded URL shortener with click count. See http://kki.co/fun.)

 

Call Now Buttonhttps://wordpress.org/plugins/call-now-button

A very simple yet very effective plugin that adds a Call Now button to your website for mobile visitors (only for mobile optimized websites).

 

Links with * indicate full disclosure of an affiliate link.